Friday, October 30, 2009

Thursday, October 29, 2009

Orb Yellow


A not-as-gigantic-as-it-appears sphere -- a bit of playground equipment at Marysville School in southeast Portland.

Wednesday, October 28, 2009

Autumn Tribute


This week, a friend found out he has stage four cancer. I guess this photo is my tribute to him. Like falling leaves, his life is changing into a winter season of difficulty. But there will be a Spring.  Love you, Jason.

Monday, October 26, 2009

Ball and Stripes


There's a brand spankin' new playground at Marysville School in Portland. Bright colors abound.

(My son had to throw this ball up in front of the wall only about four times until we go the shot.)

Friday, October 23, 2009

Thursday, October 22, 2009

Marble Fleur


Decorative marble at a small, country cemetery near Damascus, Oregon.

Wednesday, October 21, 2009

Dusky Discs


It's not often I spy farm equipment now that we live in the city. Found this disc while out on a scenic drive in the outskirts.

Tuesday, October 20, 2009

Monday, October 19, 2009

Friday, October 16, 2009

Viking Bell


A warning bell outside a warehouse near 17th and McLoughlin. The sign next to it says, "If this bell rings, call 9-1-1." That would be an interesting conversation.

Thursday, October 15, 2009

Razor Loop


A loop of razor wire keeping the snoopers out of a warehouse lot.

I like to call this photo "Something My Mother Would Never Take A Picture Of".

Wednesday, October 14, 2009

Chain Proof


Here's proof that I'm not that great of a photographer. What I'm good at it post-processing. =)

Original shot:


Tuesday, October 13, 2009

For My Grandkids


I don't recycle for myself. I recycle for my grandkids.

(By "I", of course, I mean my wife.)

Monday, October 12, 2009

17th Street Warehouse


Went out for a drive this weekend looking for a good photo op. Found grunge heaven near 17th and McLoughlin -- an entire block of old warehouses.

Friday, October 9, 2009

Five Stones


Wrapping up a week of beach photos from Westport, Washington.  (Which was an incredible locale, by the way--if you're into free, secluded, luxurious vacations by the ocean.)

Thursday, October 8, 2009

Refractions


A visual cacophony created by the Fresnel lens at the Grays Harbor Lighthouse near Westport, Washington.

Tuesday, October 6, 2009

Friday, October 2, 2009

Jackson Tower


Finishing off my monochromatic theme this week with an architectural detail from Jackson Tower near Pioneer Square in Portland.

Thursday, October 1, 2009

Fountain Alcove


Fanciful (yet non-functional) water fountain near Washington Park's Rose Garden in Portland.