Tuesday, September 30, 2008

Sunday, September 28, 2008

Pow Wow

Native American dancer at the Pow Wow held on Pioneer Square this past weekend.

Friday, September 26, 2008

Thursday, September 25, 2008

Wednesday, September 24, 2008

Lonely Stroll

Southeast Portland is rich in cultural diversity. It's not uncommon for our kids to hear three or four languages chattered about as they play at the park. And often there are some grandmotherly eastern European women strolling about.

Monday, September 22, 2008

Pumpkin Flower

We have an abundance of pumpkin flowers in our mini-garden, but no pumpkins. =(

Saturday, September 20, 2008

Tennis Anyone?

Rusty chain link fence around a tennis court at Grant Park in Portland.

Thursday, September 18, 2008

Commerce

Art piece outside the Lloyd Center mall in Portland. Features a partial Ionian column stacked with oversized coins, each carved with a quote related to shopping or money. A commentary on our materialistic society?

Wednesday, September 17, 2008

Maters

Couple of ripe little guys still on the vine in our neighbor's garden.

Tuesday, September 16, 2008

Sunday, September 14, 2008

Riveted

Transfixed by patterns of rivets holding the Steel Bridge together across the Willamette River in Portland.

Saturday, September 13, 2008

Heart of an Iris

Except for calla lilies, irises are probably my favorite flower. Yours?

Friday, September 12, 2008

Import Plaza

Color or black-and-white?

Sign from an old Import Plaza retail store at the corner of NW Couch and 1st Avenue in Old Town Portland.

Thursday, September 11, 2008

Triple Steps

Stairs leading down to the lower walkway of the Steel Bridge across the Willamette River in Portland. Twin spires of the Convention Center in the background.

Wednesday, September 10, 2008

Four Chairs

An odd sign of hospitality on the front porch of an otherwise forlorn house.

Tuesday, September 9, 2008

Monday, September 8, 2008

Friday, September 5, 2008

Claw

Empty shell of a crab claw. Exoskelotons are still one of the strangest things to me. Bones on the outside of a body. Weird, weird, weird. And the whole molting thing? What must that feel like?

Thursday, September 4, 2008

Mine!

A gull in mid-squawk. Makes me think this clip from the animated movie "Finding Nemo" with all the gulls in a squawking chorus of "Mine-mine! Mine! Mine!".

Wednesday, September 3, 2008

Lion Around

Sleepy sea lion at Cape Arago on the Oregon Coast near Coos Bay. Couldn't believe how close we were able to get to this guy.

Tuesday, September 2, 2008

Summer Jump

A joyful jump into the ocean surf. This photo sums up our Labor Day weekend -- a memorable trip down the beautiful Oregon coast with plenty of stops at beaches along the way. Ahhhhhh.... summer. Please don't let it end.

P.S. If you haven't heard already, Google has released a beta version of Picasa 3.

  • Need a super easy way to manage your pile of digital photos?
  • Want to make some simple retouching without learning (or spending money on) Photoshop?
  • Want a easy way to upload photos to your Blogger posts?

Picasa is worth the price -- FREE.

To answer your questions in advance:

  • Yes, I use Picasa. Every cotton-pickin' day.
  • No, I don't use it for photo editing, but I do think it's good for the average person (I use Photoshop).
  • No, I don't worship at the altar of the omnipotent, omniscient Google -- even though I'm suckered in by all their freebies.
  • Yes, Google will take over the world. But at least I'll have my photos in tidy little folders when they do.