Monday, December 31, 2007

Hill-a-Beans

Stump Town Coffee, a local favorite hang out, is known for its unique coffee, roasted right in front of the customers before brewing.

Saturday, December 29, 2007

Nine

From a loading dock at Ohio Art in Bryan, Ohio--where they make the Etch-a-Sketch.

Friday, December 28, 2007

Shopping on 74th

An oddity of living in the city is that shopping carts turn up in the strangest of places.

Thursday, December 27, 2007

Wednesday, December 26, 2007

Silver Mime

Throw a dollar in the pewter pot at his feet and this silver statuesque street performer comes to life, doing some stunning feats with silver orbs.

Tuesday, December 25, 2007

Dreams Come True

Okay, so I'll eat my words. I was dreaming of a green Christmas here in the northwest and we actually got a white one. It snowed in Portland on Christmas! I remember every Christmas as a kid wishing that it would snow, so today's blanket of white was nostalgic and happy.

Sunday, December 23, 2007

Saturday, December 22, 2007

Street Drummer

Clickety-clackin' a stack of buckets and pans to entertain the sidewalk crowd of Christmas shoppers near Pioneer Square. Poor guy had to grab attention away from the Star Wars Storm Troopers across the street, a chrome-painted mime on one corner, and a laddie with bagpipes on the other. How's a guy supposed to make a living with competition like that? Or maybe I'm in the wrong business. I do have a dusty clarinet under the bed. Maybe if I did a street gig people would pay me to stop playing...

Friday, December 21, 2007

And the Band Played On

Not just any piano store--nooooo.... It's the IMMORTAL Piano Company. IT SHALL LIVE F O R E V E R ! Bu-Wah-Ha-Haaaaaaaa!

Now that's marketing.

Thursday, December 20, 2007

Wednesday, December 19, 2007

15 Seconds of Fame

PUBLICITY UPDATE: This photo just got a nod from the OregonLive website where they highlight one Portland photo each day. Fun!

Tuba or Not To Be

A tuba top waits for its owner to assemble him and join the 200 or so horn players in the annual Tuba Christmas concert on Pioneer Square in downtown Portland. A quirky bit of fun, but powerful and moving at times too.

Tuesday, December 18, 2007

Blue Reflections

Great modern architecture on Pioneer Square in downtown Portland. "If you're gonna build a monstrosity, make it interesting to look at," I always say. This design is one of my favorites around here.

Monday, December 17, 2007

It's Beginning to Luke a Lot Like Christmas

The Grinch has nothing on Darth Vader--it seems even the Dark Side of the Force has softened up with some Christmas Spirit. In what has to be one of the more surreal sights of my life, a half dozen Star Wars Storm Troopers stood outside Macy's this weekend ringing cutsey little bells to raise funds for the Salvation Army.

Saturday, December 15, 2007

Dreamin' of a Green Christmas

Red leaf peeks through green. It's December in Portland with verdant leaves still on the trees.

Thursday, December 13, 2007

Heavy Fountain

A bronze woman heaves the weight of Skidmore Fountain near downtown Portland.

Wednesday, December 12, 2007

Tuesday, December 11, 2007

Sunday, December 9, 2007

Saturday, December 8, 2007

Thursday, December 6, 2007

Tuesday, December 4, 2007

Monday, December 3, 2007

Farmhouse Window

Old houses make me wonder about the stories of the people who have lived in them over the years. If those walls could tell their tales...

Saturday, December 1, 2007

Chipped and Cracked

Layers of weathered paint add character to the old train depot in Bryan, Ohio.

Friday, November 30, 2007

Galloping Away

Horses have to be one of the most elegant creatures. These were happy to show off for me one afternoon this summer, dashing past as if to dare me to get a shutter speed fast enough.

Thursday, November 29, 2007

Depot

Architectural detail from an old train depot in Bryan, Ohio. What must have been one of the bustlingest places in town now sits in silent neglect.

Wednesday, November 28, 2007

Tuesday, November 27, 2007

Monday, November 26, 2007

Hole in the Hedge

Curb appeal from a house down the street. I guess they got tired of walking around their 6-foot hedge, so they cut a hole in it and put in a gate.

Sunday, November 25, 2007

Hood Ornament Quiz

Here's the hood ornament. Can you name the make and model? (Gotta leave your guesses in the comments.)

Friday, November 23, 2007

Stone Wall

An intricate pattern of masonry on a massive stone wall near the Portland Zoo. Someone spent a whole lot of time getting those blocks puzzle-pieced together. So much more beautiful to look at than a stark concrete wall, which would have been cheaper, I'm sure.

Thursday, November 22, 2007

Red Line to Airport

After a month here, my sons still get a thrill anytime we take the bus or train somewhere. This is one of the on-board train signs showing the destination--though we didn't ride all the way to the airport. For us, the joy of riding around on an electric train IS the destination.

Wednesday, November 21, 2007

Evergreen Droplet

A water droplet balloons on the tip of an evergreen needle before falling to its demise. The rainy season seems to have drizzled its way into Portland. It's always a soft rain, with gentle trickles of water bubbling their music as I walk to the bus in the morning.

Tuesday, November 20, 2007

North

In case you were wondering, north is that way. This marker is embedded in the sidewalk for some random purpose.

Monday, November 19, 2007

Speaker Dots

A rusty speaker box along the train line that I ride to work every day.

Sunday, November 18, 2007

Black Eyed Susan

What an odd name for a such a nice flower. Who gave Susan a black eye, anyway?

Saturday, November 17, 2007

Don't Walk, Don't Drive, Don't Turn

Couldn't do anything else at the corner of Yamhill and Tenth, so I took a picture.

Friday, November 16, 2007

Peculiar Picket Fence

A ruler straight fence takes a sudden creative twist as if the posts simply grew tired of standing guard and decided to fly away.

Thursday, November 15, 2007

Wednesday, November 14, 2007

Put on a Happy Face

Odd bit of decor on Pioneer Square in the heart of downtown Portland. Seems like there is always something happening down on the square whether it's a publicity stunt, a protest, a concert, or some social event. Today when I rode by on the train, they were trimming a huge tree for the Christmas season.

Tuesday, November 13, 2007

Autumn Glow

Soft sunlight filters through autumn leaves on top of Mt. Tabor. Oregon is beautiful!

Monday, November 12, 2007

Quirky Peacock

A stray peacock shoots a curious look at the camera while strutting outside the Portland Zoo.

Sunday, November 11, 2007

Black Pawn

A black pawn sits vulnerable on the front line of a friendly chess game. Weekends at Pioneer Square in downtown Portland often feature such games played in the midst of crowds waiting for the train.

Saturday, November 10, 2007

Stone, Glass, and Leaves

I've fallen in love with downtown Portland which, like many cities, is rich in diverse architecture. We had a few extra minutes one night to stroll along and shoot some photos before meeting friends for dinner last weekend. Can't wait to find a free Saturday or Sunday to wander around again.

Friday, November 9, 2007

Wednesday, November 7, 2007

Multnomah Falls

The lower half of Multnomah Falls cascades in a silvery sheen on a crisp autumn morning. We're just beginning to discover the seemingly endless natural beauty of Oregon. This is just one of a series of seven waterfalls within a half hour drive from our house.

Sunday, November 4, 2007

Fall is Falling

The photoblog is back after several weeks off as we moved clear across the country from Ohio to Oregon. We're settled in and I'm finding time to shoot again thanks to the encouragement of some photoblog fans.

This Japanese Maple lives in the front yard of a neighbor down the block, shot on one of our first days here before all our earthly possessions arrived by truck. The leaves formed a vivid gradient from yellow-green, to bright orange, to crimson, splashing a warm rainbow of color welcoming us to the neighborhood.

Sunday, September 9, 2007

Off!

Out of town last week, so no time to post. Another busy one this week, so don't expect much here for another good bit.

Mosquitos have hatched in plague proportions here lately, so it wasn't too hard to find one to photograph. Maybe I shoulda just swatted him.

Saturday, September 1, 2007

Asian Lantern

Decor from a Japanese restaraunt. I love the simple elegance in traditional Asian architecture.